Texas Legislative Medal of Honor Recipients Honored

Recipients of highest Texas military honor get memorial outside Bexar County courthouse

By Jasper Scherer
Staff Writer, San Antonio Express-News
October 3, 2017

The memorial contains the names of eight medal recipients, each with ties to Bexar County or South Central Texas.

Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff and Commissioners Paul Elizondo and Kevin Wolff unveiled a plaque in front of the county courthouse Tuesday morning that commemorates recipients of the Texas Legislative Medal of Honor, the highest military award in the state.

Relatives and friends of the honorees, along with many city officials, watched as the commissioners pulled a black sheet off the memorial, revealing a bronze structure with eight plaques and a short dedication message.

“For those families who are here, for friends who have come, thank you so much for your individual sacrifices and for your family’s sacrifices,” Kevin Wolff said. “It’s right for us to remember and to honor them.”

Each plaque includes the name, military rank and dates of birth and death of the award recipient. The memorial includes eight deceased veterans, each of whom had various ties to Bexar County or South Central Texas. Only 12 people have ever received the medal.

Read the full story here:

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.